Honour

SHARE

(2014) ★★

Sky Movies Premiere: PREMIERE Friday 20 November, 6.00pm

Terrified Aiysha Hart in hiding after somehow surviving an ‘honour killing’ attack by her Pakistani mother Harvey Virdi and policeman brother Faraz Ayub. Her crime? Having a Punjabi boyfriend (Nikesh Patel). Hired to find her is racist bounty hunter Paddy Considine, a man with no name and an expired National Front affiliation.

The booming kettledrums on the soundtrack attest to writer-director Shan Khan’s intentions to shout out loud about the British Muslim curse of ‘honour killings’, a term as oxymoronic as ‘ethnic cleansing’. But the oppressively pulpy thrills tend to belie the seriousness of the subject; it seems to be nothing more than a cheap plot device in an ineffectively non-linear narrative.

Suspense is killed stone dead by the profusion of flashbacks and the unlikely ending is a kick in the teeth for realists (although maybe not so crazy as Bollywood’s musical melodrama, Honour Killing). Considine’s a considerable presence, as ever, but he’s got even less to work with here than Clive Owen had a decade earlier in his own doleful trawl around London in I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead.

Certificate: 15
Duration: 104min

IMDB – Honour

TMDB – Honour

Rotten Tomatoes – Honour

Other Showings Date & Time
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 21 November at 10:15AM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 21 November at 6:00PM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 22 November at 12:30PM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 22 November at 6:00PM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 23 November at 10:15AM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 23 November at 6:00PM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 24 November at 10:15AM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 24 November at 6:00PM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 25 November at 10:15AM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 25 November at 6:00PM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 26 November at 10:15AM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 26 November at 6:00PM
Sky Movies Premiere Friday, 27 November at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Friday, 27 November at 1:45PM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 28 November at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 28 November at 1:45PM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 29 November at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 29 November at 1:45PM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 30 November at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 30 November at 4:15PM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 1 December at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 1 December at 1:45PM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 2 December at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 2 December at 1:45PM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 3 December at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 3 December at 1:45PM
Sky Movies Crime/Thriller Monday, 7 December at 5:05PM
Sky Movies Crime/Thriller Tuesday, 8 December at 12:05AM