13 Sins

SHARE

(2013) ★★★

Sky Movies Premiere: PREMIERE Friday 27 November, 8.00am

On the day he’s fired for refusing to fleece vulnerable clients, mild-mannered insurance salesman Mark Webber receives a phone call from a stranger who knows entirely too much about his predicament and the people depending on him: a demanding younger brother (Devon Graye) who’s mentally challenged, an embittered widower dad (Tom Bower) with an eviction notice, and a pregnant girlfriend (Rutina Wesley) he’s marrrying in a fortnight. If Webber kills the fly buzzing in his car, the insinuating voice tells him, $1000 will be deposited in his account; if he swallows it, Rutina’s MasterCard debt will be cleared. “It will be a nice wedding present for her, won’t it?” Complete 11 more challenges in 36 hours, and he’ll be wealthy beyond his wildest dreams.

Although adapted from a 2006 Thai hit called 13: Game of Death, Daniel Stamm’s sinister but darkly comic recession-era conspiracy comes on like the badly behaved cousin of David Fincher’s The Game. Sleekly shot in stately widescreen, it takes the Greed-is-God stance of Terry Southern’s The Magic Christian and gives it a sadistic twist.

Webber’s identikit face is plastered on wanted posters – assault, arson, child abuse, desecration of a corpse – as the trail of mayhem is traced by Ron Perlman, a stoic New Orleans cop who’s seen it all before: “Don’t make me say freeze,” he barks at the panic-stricken Webber. “Do you think this is a game?” Then his mobile phone buzzes again, and its Big Top ringtone promises yet more horrible consequences.

Certificate: 15
Duration: 93min

IMDB – 13 Sins

TMDB – 13 Sins

Rotten Tomatoes – 13 Sins

Other Showings Date & Time
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 28 November at 12:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 28 November at 8:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 29 November at 12:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 29 November at 8:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 30 November at 12:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 30 November at 8:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 1 December at 12:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 1 December at 8:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 2 December at 12:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 2 December at 8:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 3 December at 12:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 3 December at 9:45AM
Sky Movies Premiere Friday, 4 December at 12:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 5 December at 1:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 6 December at 1:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 7 December at 1:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 8 December at 1:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 9 December at 1:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 10 December at 1:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Friday, 11 December at 1:30AM