Big Hero 6

SHARE

(2014) ★★★

Sky Movies Premiere: PREMIERE Friday 25 December, 4.15pm

Ryan Potter voices teen science prodigy Hiro, bonding with super-sized healthcare robot Baymax (30 Rock’s Scott Adsit) after the death of big brother Tadashi. Baymax was Tadashi’s final invention, an inflatable Stay Puft marshmallow man made in huggable vinyl. Happy landings seem assured, then, in a Disneytoon moving swiftly through the streets of San Fransokyo (a futuristic city down the road from Blade Runner’s Los Angeles).

The villain is a threatening caped figure in a kabuki mask. His weapon of mass destruction is an army of microbots in a story that dampens down the humour and amps up the darkness as it goes along. Fortunately, our hero Hiro teams with a van load of Scooby Doo cohorts, including school mascot Fred: “And so the origin story begins!” Fred’s voiced by T.J. Miller, Silicon Valley’s irredeemable Erlich and the only intentionally funny element in Transformers: Age of Extinction. This odd-duck diversion might be somewhat less than Brad Bird’s The Incredibles. But it’s preferable to Wreck-It Ralph’s aggressive nudge and wink.

Certificate: PG
Duration: 98min

IMDB – Big Hero 6

TMDB – Big Hero 6

Rotten Tomatoes – Big Hero 6

Other Showings Date & Time
Sky Movies Premiere Friday, 25 December at 6:15PM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 26 December at 9:40AM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 26 December at 4:30PM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 27 December at 6:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Sunday, 27 December at 3:15PM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 28 December at 7:45AM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 28 December at 2:30PM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 29 December at 10:15AM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 29 December at 4:30PM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 30 December at 2:45PM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 30 December at 6:15PM
Sky Movies Comedy Thursday, 31 December at 3:15AM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 31 December at 12:10PM
Sky Movies Premiere Thursday, 31 December at 6:15PM
Sky Movies Disney Friday, 1 January at 9:45AM
Sky Movies Disney Friday, 1 January at 6:15PM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 2 January at 10:00AM
Sky Movies Premiere Saturday, 2 January at 4:30PM
Sky Movies Premiere Monday, 4 January at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Disney Monday, 4 January at 2:20PM
Sky Movies Comedy Tuesday, 5 January at 3:45AM
Sky Movies Sci-Fi/Horror Tuesday, 5 January at 5:30AM
Sky Movies Premiere Tuesday, 5 January at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Comedy Tuesday, 5 January at 9:40AM
Sky Movies Showcase Tuesday, 5 January at 10:05AM
Sky Movies Premiere Wednesday, 6 January at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Showcase Wednesday, 6 January at 7:45AM
Sky Movies Comedy Thursday, 7 January at 3:40AM
Sky Movies Sci-Fi/Horror Friday, 8 January at 5:30AM
Sky Movies Comedy Friday, 8 January at 5:35AM
Sky Movies Showcase Friday, 8 January at 7:00AM
Sky Movies Showcase Friday, 8 January at 4:35PM
Sky Movies Disney Saturday, 9 January at 10:10AM
Sky Movies Disney Saturday, 9 January at 6:15PM
Sky Movies Sci-Fi/Horror Sunday, 10 January at 5:30AM
Sky Movies Showcase Sunday, 10 January at 6:40AM
Sky Movies Showcase Wednesday, 13 January at 6:15AM
Sky Movies Disney Thursday, 14 January at 6:00AM
Sky Movies Disney Thursday, 14 January at 9:40AM
Sky Movies Disney Thursday, 14 January at 6:10PM
Sky Movies Sci-Fi/Horror Friday, 15 January at 5:30AM
Sky Movies Comedy Saturday, 16 January at 3:30AM