One of the most striking things about Suicide Squad’s marketing campaign has been the use of well-known songs for the trailers. The Comic-Con first-look trailer had a haunting cover of The Bee Gee’s ‘I Started A Joke,’ while the next two trailers packed a musical punch by delving into the Wayne’s World annals and unleashing Queen’s masterful ballad Bohemian Rhapsody and Ballroom Blitz by The Sweet.

Three out of three. We loved it.

Considering that, we expected a pretty kickass soundtrack for the film itself and, now, with the release of the official soundtrack’s track-listing, we can safely assert that we’re pretty disappointed. Suicide Squad: The Album is currently available for pre-order on Amazon, including eight original songs from the likes of Skylar Grey, Grimes and a collaboration between Skrillex and Rick Ross called Purple Lamborghini, who recorded a music video with Jared Leto’s Joker.

Unfortunately, with the exception of Dan Auberbach’s (The Black Keys) inclusion on ‘Standing in the Rain’ and ‘Fortunate Son’ by Creedence Clearwater Revival, this soundtrack doesn’t really do anything for us. It’s certainly went down the rap route.

Take a look at the full track listing:

  1. Purple Lamborghini [Explicit] by Skrillex & Rick Ross
  2. Sucker For Pain (with Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors) [Explicit] by Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons
  3. Heathens by twenty one pilots
  4. Standing In The Rain (feat. Mark Ronson) [Explicit] by Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys)
  5. Gangsta [Explicit] by Kehlani
  6. Know Better [Explicit] by Kevin Gates
  7. You Don’t Own Me (feat. G-Eazy) by Grace
  8. Without Me by Eminem
  9. Wreak Havoc by Skylar Grey
  10. Medieval Warfare by Grimes
  11. Bohemian Rhapsody by Panic! At The Disco
  12. Slippin’ Into Darkness by War
  13. Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival
  14. I Started a Joke (feat. Becky Hanson) by ConfidentialMX

As you can see, Bohemian Rhapsody has been covered by emo-rockers Panic! At The Disco, for some strange reason (mainly because it’s impossible to better the original). The likes of Grace’s “You Don’t Own Me” was used in one of the trailers and twenty one pilots have debuted their song ‘Heathens’ on Spotify.

On the face of it, the Suicide Squad album doesn’t nearly hold a candle to Guardians of the Galaxy’s Awesome Mix (and this isn’t a Marvel fanboy writing). James Gunn’s film revived classics like ‘Hooked on a Feeling’ and David Bowie’s ‘Moonage Daydream,’ while also having a few other crackers in there that made their intergalactic misadventures even more memorable. We do enjoy the inclusion of Slippin’ Into Darkness by forgotten Funk group War.

Of course, we’re merely looking at a list of songs completely out of context and not within the film’s setting but, purely based on personal preference, we were expecting a little more.